NEW

OLD

GALLERY

SIGN

PROFILE

RINGS

E-MAIL

D'LAND




[<<|>>|17.04.07|11:20|My Baby Girl's a Birthday Girl!]


Grim things happen in the world, but what does it matter when the jewel of my life has her very first birthday today?



We got up a little earlier than usual to have breakfast together. In actual fact, only Adam and I had breakfast � Raven was too busy with her new talking-blinking-bought-on-eBay-second-hand-Teletubbies. She absolutely adores them. But we did sing to her first thing � she didn�t enjoy it though, cos she was hankering for some breast � but we shall sing for her many times more today to make up for the early bird sing-song, which delayed her breakfast breast.

My mum and my brother are coming over for dinner tonight, but other than that, we�re not doing anything special. We�re going on a steam train ride this weekend, though, and my eldest brother and nephew, Mette and Dennis, my mum and youngest brother are all coming as a sort of belated birthday celebration.

It�s the anniversary of the railway in my childhood town and I was there for the last celebrations 25 years ago. I remember it quite vividly. It was a very special day out � though I doubt Raven will remember it quite so well in 25 years;) The flour mill in the same town is celebrating its anniversary too. I grew up right next to the mill from birth till age of 9 � (back then you were not 9 or 10 � you were something and a month, a quarter, a half etc.). It�s strange, but the mill stands as something quite particular to me in my childhood memories. Maybe we shall go up there as well and buy a bag of wind ground flour. If the weather forecast is anything to go by, there should be ample wind for the wings. There used to be all these tales about the mill � maybe they were merely of the imagination of us kids, or maybe they were local legend and folklore � I honestly don�t know � but we were never quite so brave going up there when it was dark as we were during the day.

Funny I should find my own daughter growing up a mere 9 kilometres from the town where I grew up. We can actually see it across the fjord from here. Life and mysterious ways indeed.


|


[THAT WAY|NO WAY|THIS WAY]



Previous Co||ections:
[06.12.11|20:20|Some news... ]
[11.10.11|12:14|New Me, New Job, New Car]
[24.06.11|09:08|Surgery confession. ]
[19.06.11|17:01|Shame on me.]
[10.06.11|09:52|Further on my operation.]




Vicunja2002-2010