NEW

OLD

GALLERY

SIGN

PROFILE

RINGS

E-MAIL

D'LAND




[<<|>>|15.04.08|11:37|Stain Removal]


I'm supposed to be doing some laundry and some other general house chores relating to my beautiful daughter's birthday the day after tomorrow. Still can't quite grasp that she's now a toddler. 2 years old. I mean, that's... gosh... almost grown!

Tomorrow there'll be cup cakes for everyone at nursery � with Raven's picture on them! Fab, methinks. Will take a photo of the photo cup cakes so y'all can see. They're celebrating her b-day tomorrow because she's staying home Thursday and Friday is a bank holiday in Denmark. I know she has no idea about b-days or any of the fuss we're making, but I still think it's important that we celebrate her b-day as if she knew exactly what was going on. I know she's going to absolutely LOVE the present we got her. It's a play tower with a slide and all sorts. Obviously, photos of this will follow also.

Last Thursday, Adam and I were at a neighbours for coffee in the evening. The occasion was her birthday some weeks past. All the neighbours were there. It was really nice and very traditional. You know, hot cocoa, smurte boller, 3 kinds of cake, apple crumple, cookies and rutebiler � all obviously home made. Then coffee, chocolates and beer.

At the event was amongst others a chap called John and his wife. We'd spoken to them for a while when he suddenly says �so, you're Lis' daughter?!� I confirmed, and it turns out that John's the John that my dad used to do work for. He knew my dad really well. It was very strange and it made my tummy do somersaults. It felt like my dad was suddenly right there to touch. To know a little again. My dad was loved and missed by these people. �No one can do a wheel like your dad,� John said. Since his passing John's not been able to find anyone to do them, and all attempts have failed. They've even got out books and tried doing it themselves but to no avail. It was nice to hear that he was something for someone. That he was appreciated. I think it's been a long time since he was appreciated by anyone in his family � with the exception of my brother. It is my regret and one I must live with for the rest of my life that I couldn't forgive him and see him before he died.

All those emotions I felt and still feel concerning my father � the double loss of him and the hole he's left. Lives intertwine and even the most difficult people have a place and a meaning and we all leave a mark. I miss my dad.




|


[THAT WAY|NO WAY|THIS WAY]



Previous Co||ections:
[06.12.11|20:20|Some news... ]
[11.10.11|12:14|New Me, New Job, New Car]
[24.06.11|09:08|Surgery confession. ]
[19.06.11|17:01|Shame on me.]
[10.06.11|09:52|Further on my operation.]




Vicunja2002-2010