NEW

OLD

GALLERY

SIGN

PROFILE

RINGS

E-MAIL

D'LAND




[<<|>>|03.08.06|13:18|BREAST IS BEST!]


Motherhood gets easier with each passing day. Physically, I�m back to normal, which is also a great improvement. The only bother is... well... me � my mood. I snap at Adam canstantly for no reason at all and I�m incredibly irritable all the time. At least it�s not Raven I get annoyed with. *sigh* I just wish I knew why I get so *rah* with him, cos I love him so much and he really doesn�t give me any reason to complain.

Last Friday I went with Sarah, who gave birth to little Harvey a couple of weeks before Raven was born, to a coffee morning with some mums she�s met in a post natal group. There were three other women with first babies there � all the same age or thereabouts as Raven and Harvey. It was really nice seeing other mums and just hanging out with some grown-ups as well. Comparing notes and all that jazz. On Tuesday, Raven and I went to a baby massage class offered by the local SureSt@rt (government iniative for mums living in deprived areas) with 5 other mums with babies bethween 2 and 4 months old. It was only the introductory class, so we didn�t actually do any massaging, but again, it was nice seeing some other mums and babies and talking to grown-ups and comparing notes... Tuesday afternoon, Raven and I went to a post-natal new mums group � another SureSt@rt thingie � with 7 other mums and little babies that were all around 6-7 weeks old. I would have joined a group earlier, but had decided to postpone it until after the wedding, cos I had so much to see to at the time. Anyways, it was really nice seeing nice seeing some other mums and babies and talking to grown-ups and comparing notes. I got really broody cos there were little babies there � it�s hard to even remember Raven being that little, even though it�s only 6 weeks ago. Well, there was one little boy there who was born 6 weeks early and who was now 7 weeks old, so in reality, he is only one week old, and actually 1 week younger than Raven was when she was born! And he was so little and cute and gosh it made me broody � I want another one!!! Anyways, all the mums it seemed had babies that weren�t very good sleepers � all of them � from the ones on Friday to the ones at the massage class to the post-natal group. I�m beginning to realise and appreciate just how fortunate we�ve been with Raven. The most astonishing about meeting all these mums was the ratio of bottle to breastfed babies. Now, you would have thought that out of us 17 mums with babies all under 4 months there would be at least � say � 10 that were exclusively breastfed. Well, there wasn�t � there were... wait for it... TWO! Raven and little Abdul � a Nigerian boy. Some of the other babies were partly breasfed and partly bottlefed, but yeah � only 2 were exclusively breastfed. I think that�s appalling. I�m aware that some women simply can�t breastfed, for whatever reason, but I refuse to believe that the human race would have survived till this day if that many women were unable to breastfeed.

On that same note, Raven is also to only one of the lot in real napppies. There was a mum who uses biodegradable unbleached eco-friendly nappies.

Speaking of babies, Raven�s just woken up from her nap and is calling me. Better go.

I�m coming home early September � let me know your schedule so I can get the tickets.

The kitchen�s been delivered and is being installed next week! YAY!


|


[THAT WAY|NO WAY|THIS WAY]



Previous Co||ections:
[06.12.11|20:20|Some news... ]
[11.10.11|12:14|New Me, New Job, New Car]
[24.06.11|09:08|Surgery confession. ]
[19.06.11|17:01|Shame on me.]
[10.06.11|09:52|Further on my operation.]




Vicunja2002-2010