NEW

OLD

GALLERY

SIGN

PROFILE

RINGS

E-MAIL

D'LAND




[<<|>>|04.04.07|13:07|Visualising My DIY Laundryline]


After a couple of days of clinging to me like a baby gibbon, Raven decided that she was happy toddling about playing on her own all morning. It was nice. It makes me a lot less stressed, and it makes her a lot easier to manage. She takes her nap more happily and is generally more content when she�s not fretting so much about me and what I�m doing. I can�t even go to the loo without her wailing when she�s in the kind of mood where only sitting on my lap with her arms firmly wrapped around me and a lump of my flesh in her grip will satisfy her. And on days like those, not even having me so completely as she wants is actually enough � she�s never quite content. But today is not such a day. Today, I hardly notice her. An occasional giggle from under the coffee table, or babbling from the toy box, reminds me I am a mum.

It�s a year� almost. A year since I became a mum. Gosh.



The other day at the post office there was a poster advertising a new series of stamps all designed by Danish artists. Now, I noted that all the artists were men, so I pointed this out to the cashier. �Oh well,� she said �just a coincidence. Besides, the poster is a couple of years old.� I do this often. Say things to people who are not really interested or who haven�t been brainwashed at university level by hordes of lesbian professors. But I still found it odd and certainly noticed the fact that the poster said Danish artists and that they were all male. See, if there had been a series of stamps done by all female artists, the point would have been that they were all female and the poster would have said stamps designed by female Danish artists. But when it�s the all-male artists, it doesn�t say male Danish artists. Why? Obviously, I can only postulate that the all female artists would be advertised as female artists. And of course, they would have been chosen to design stamps or whatever because they were artists who were also female. But maybe the guy at Post Danmark who decides who gets to design stamps simply couldn�t find any female artists to partake in the artist edition stamps? Hm. Obviously, merely choosing a woman as a token in order that both genders were represented would have been wrong, but I am still suspicious� something about it still jarred.


Who are you, by the way, dear reader from our illustrious capital?


Adam starts his Easter Holiday this afternoon. 5 days of DIY awaits. He and my brother are putting down the laminate we bought last weekend. I�m not a big fan of the principle of laminate � toxic look-a-like tat, if you ask me. But the practicality of it � it�s much better for keeping clean than carpet and much, much, much, much cheaper than the real wood equivalent, so principles have been put asunder and the laminate is going down. If my brother can put it down as nicely as the laminate at my parents� is put down, I shall be very pleased. Adam�s one attempt at putting down flooring in England was a fiasco, so I sincerely hope my brother can guide him.

We�ve also got a laundryline-cum-baby swing to build:



Don�t laugh � I�m convinced my illustration made it much easier for you to picture the project at hand.

Better get on with today�s chores. Need to get a bit of shopping done before the shops close for Easter.


|


[THAT WAY|NO WAY|THIS WAY]



Previous Co||ections:
[06.12.11|20:20|Some news... ]
[11.10.11|12:14|New Me, New Job, New Car]
[24.06.11|09:08|Surgery confession. ]
[19.06.11|17:01|Shame on me.]
[10.06.11|09:52|Further on my operation.]




Vicunja2002-2010