NEW

OLD

GALLERY

SIGN

PROFILE

RINGS

E-MAIL

D'LAND




[<<|>>|06.05.08|08:37|Godmorning, Sunshine!]


My son's asleep and Adam's taking Raven to nursery. He's home this week to do work on the house. Couldn't have chosen a better week. The sun is bursting and with the steps in place, we can really enjoy the luxury of our south-facing lawn. I wish I could say 'garden' instead of lawn, but I can't. It's not a garden � it's just grass. The few plants we have are scraggly and � well � dying. I miss my little terraced house garden in England. That was maintenance friendly! My little patio with the double patio doors � the raised garden running along the fence, the shed, the brick BBQ and the tiny plot of grass with the composter on it. It was just right. But no, it was honestly a little too small � well, now we have children anyways. Raven loves having a big lawn to run around on. And she loves her slide.

But I want more from our land outside our house. I want a garden. I want another couple of those raised gardens like the one we built in England. It was 1 metre wide and high and 3,5 metres long. Somewhere I can grow some salad, some strawberries, maybe tomatoes and carrots too. And why raised? Because of the god damn cats! This place is crawling with cats. They poop in my lawn. Wherever there's the slightest bit of soil peeping through the grass, they're on it pooping. It makes my lawn stink and it's super annoying when I'd like to be able to let Raven play out there. It helps that we can now go out directly, cos I can send Angel out when I see a can toileting. I'm a big cat fan � if it wasn't for Adam, I'd have one myself. And I realise that people can't control where their cats litter. But that doesn't mean I can't be super annoyed with the felines pooping on my plot. A raised planter will enable me to cover the soil so the cats can't get to it. And so the slugs can't get to it. God knows the slugs are an even bigger annoyance than the cats! I hope we won't have as many slugs here as we did on Mors.

Yesterday I cleaned the car � inside and out. That was a job long overdue! I actually enjoy washing the car. It's certainly not a job I mind doing. I also planted 3 big lush Hortensia into the zinc buckets I'd bought for the purpose. They're not really supposed to live in planters and neither do they particularly like being in direct sunlight, but I love Hortensia, so what do I do when I've got no half-shade in which to plant them and don't want to put them in the lawn either?

Ooh, my boy's awake. About time, too! The longest he's ever slept!


|


[THAT WAY|NO WAY|THIS WAY]



Previous Co||ections:
[06.12.11|20:20|Some news... ]
[11.10.11|12:14|New Me, New Job, New Car]
[24.06.11|09:08|Surgery confession. ]
[19.06.11|17:01|Shame on me.]
[10.06.11|09:52|Further on my operation.]




Vicunja2002-2010