NEW

OLD

GALLERY

SIGN

PROFILE

RINGS

E-MAIL

D'LAND




[<<|>>|22.01.02|13:31|Sweet Childhood of Mine]


Yeah, why not?

Someone called 'em as he saw them... and I laughed so hard tears were rolling down my face. There's obviously more to it than what is quoted below, but this was the part that had me roaring with laughter. It's so spot on, it's scary (not that I would ever ACTUALLY consider chasing a ball with a dog or whatever, but as a metaphor or something - or hypothetically speaking or whatever):

_________________

"Hell, I am far more adequatly suited to engage in pleasant recreational activity with said inanimate object. This canine or feline will not utilize this object labeled "ball" in the many various methodologically sound manners which I would. In effect, I believe that should I intercept this ball, I would be more than justified if I proceeded to engage recreationally with said "ball." And further more..." And while you were saying this, the dogs owner has already stopped playing with the dog (which no longer wants to play with the ball) and has raised a child and is starting on a second mortgage on his/her home.

__________________

Apart from making me laugh, it also made me think that perhaps I need a break from all this academic shit. It really is screwing with my brain and taking up way to much space in my life (and my diary).

Hey, I just remembered something - from when I was a kid. I've NO idea where it came from, as it has NO relevance whatsoever to anything above, but there it was - suddenly in my brain again after 20-odd years of absence. That's pretty funky. Guess I better write was this ever-so interesting childhood memory was then. Well, nothing special, really. There was a "big" city about 30 kilometres (45 minutes drive) from where I lived as a child and sometimes, when luck struck, we'd get to go there to do "big" shopping with my parents. As far as I remember, these outings were rare, and as far as I remember, that really was okay, coz a family day out was normally a disaster. But anyways, in the "big" city (I write "big" coz it really only has about 10.000 inhabitants, but is the biggests in the area where I grew up) there was a shopping centre unsurpassed by nothing in my home town (of 5.000 inhabitants) and it was always an awesome experience going there. But more than anything it was good because of the children's play area that they had in those days. They don't have it in this particular store (which eventually became my local shop - in fact, I lived in a flat on top of it for a while) anymore. I guess today's youth prefer going shopping with their parents rather than hang out with other random kids. Or perhaps it's the fear of pedophiles and kidnappings. Anyways, the store had a TV type thing in the play area. It was more like a screen on a tilted table or something. And it had a bench type thing attached to it with room for exactly me OR my brother. We couldn't both sit there, coz we'd get into fights but the TV was cool coz it only had Tom & Jerry cartoons and stuff on it. No boring news or soaps or whatever. Just pure entertainment. I loved that thing... which is why I don't understand how I'd forgotten about it. I guess that happens. I feel old.

Which remind me, I was telling Muriel how, as a kid, we only had one national TV-channel in Denmark. No one had satelite-TV 25 years ago, that's for sure and not many had video machines either, so you really were stuck with this one channel. I remember watching M*A*S*H with my family... and cartoons on Saturdays. But apart from that, I guess it was mostly my dad watching sports or the news. As I recall it, the news were my primary source of "entertainment" from an early age. The radio was always on, and I actually remember being in my play-pen in the living room listening to the news on the radio not understanding much of what was said. The first phonenumber I ever knew was for the national TV in Denmark - and I still remember it: 01 12 36 22. Numbers and area codes have long changed in Denmark, but I doubt I'll ever forget that number. How useless is that! Oh, and there was a soap on TV called Isaura's Daughter. It was South-American - Brazillian perhaps - and they spoke Portoguese. So did I after a while. A few years after came Dynasty - I know Dallas came first, but I never watched that. I did watch Dynasty and I looooved it. It was on every Sunday and I just HAD to see it. I wasn't even 9 years old at the time. I like Alexis the best. She was a true vixen and not so bloody guuuuuuuuud as Crystal. Well, of course that other lady took Crystal's place for a while and she was well evil, but that doesn't count and besides, Blake wasn't easy to fool - he knew it wasn't Crystal. After a while at least he knew. How stupid those soaps are anyways. This woman is kidnapped and another woman, who's undergone extensive cosmetic surgery to look exactly like her, replaces her and tries to con Blake of his money. It really isn't very realistic. Oh, and another thing - I don't think Blake ever really stopped being attracted to Alexis. She was just way more interesting and - well - sexy than Crystal. I mean, I wasn't rooting for Alexis openly or anything, but I certainly wrote a few frustrated entries in my diary about her at the time;)

Yeah, so again - can't believe I just admitted to passionately following an American soap at the tender age of 8. Hmmm... well, it taught me English. That, M*A*S*H, Tom & Jerry and Sam''s Bar. Oh, I'm sure there was more to my childhood's TV, but that is all I remember... now.

Muriel's made quiche. That girl's gonna make some man very, very happy some day. Oh, and she was offered a second job doing nude modelling. I think it's really kewl how I live with a Spanish Engineer who works full time whilst being a full time student, a Gibraltarian Chemistry Teacher who looks like a model and a French Librarian who is a model - and a nude one at that.

I'm gonna have some of that naughty, naughty quiche now - just a bit though, coz it's pure heart attack... but wow, it's good;)

(If my maternal grandfather was still alive, today would have been his birthday. He was born in 1914, so he'd have been 88 today - well, congratulations anyways.)


|


[THAT WAY|NO WAY|THIS WAY]



Previous Co||ections:
[06.12.11|20:20|Some news... ]
[11.10.11|12:14|New Me, New Job, New Car]
[24.06.11|09:08|Surgery confession. ]
[19.06.11|17:01|Shame on me.]
[10.06.11|09:52|Further on my operation.]




Vicunja2002-2010